From Jesse:

A guy I used to work with at boston.com, Scott LaPierre, won a Digital Edge Award for the online presentation of the Globe multi-part story, Emily’s Story, that follows around a blind Harvard student who fights through an amazing amount of adversity to try and make her college experience work.

The thing I like most about the online presentation is how it interspeses audio into the print pages, and how that audio gives more life and substance to the printed words, and kind of alters the way you take in the story. For instance, in Part 1 of the story, you’ll be reading about how hard this transition was on Emily’s mother, and then there is an embedded audio/flash file in the story, that fits in at the right time in the flow of the story, that plays audio of Emily’s mother describing her conflicting feelings. So, in the course of reading, I read, then stopped and listened to the audio, then continued reading on, then stopped at the next audio clip, etc. It is definitely a different way to “experience” a story on the Web, as it had me reading, the stopped and listening, then continuing on reading … but for me, the whole think worked and made sense.

After I would read each part of the story, I would then go on to look at the other interactive features, such as the photo galleries and the audio slideshows. To me, the print story was primary, and the multimedia features were “extras” that added another level of immersion to the story, without overpowering or taking anything away from the print storytelling.

